Branding and Marketing

Layer Masking & Smart Objects

Professional Practise

There are a few important things to double check before starting a new file on photoshop/illustrator; The file is named, DPI is to the desired setting and the colour scheme is set to the correct setting.

professional-practise

DPI (Pixels Per Inch):

  • 72 – Working on screen
  • 150 – Home Printing work
  • 300 – Commercial Print

DPI is very important as it will always be the difference in the end image being blurry (not having enough pixels) or the file size being way too big (having way too many pixels).

The colour mode RGB is typically used for things like web design, whereas CMYK is used for for images to be printed. If, say, during production one would attempt to use a colour not on the colour palette for either mode, photoshop would alert the user that the colour isn’t on the palette, which would later end up in the colour being a different shade when saved/printed.

Giving documents and layers the correct name is another very important thing, as this saves lots and lots of time and just looks more pleasing to the eye. With correctly named files/layers, your work will almost always be organised.

Smart Objects:

Smart Objects¬†preserve an image’s source content with all its original characteristics, enabling you to perform nondestructive editing to the layer.

screen-shot-2016-10-10-at-15-23-24
Above is a stock image of some mock up beer bottles; all of the logos are smart objects. Here I aim to create my own Logo for the beer bottles and insert it without destructing the current beer bottle logos, on the same layer. After I had created a quick logo, all I had to do was double click the little image of a piece of paper in the corner of the layer image, which would then take me to the layers smart layer.

So this is what it takes you to. All I had to do was turn off the layer with the current logo on it and replace the logo with my new one, and after I saved this, it would change the logo on the bottles in my original file.

Finished Bottle:

screen-shot-2016-10-10-at-15-33-32

Layer Masking:

You can add a mask to a layer and use the mask to hide portions of the layer and reveal the layers below. Masking layers is a valuable compositing technique for combining multiple photos into a single image or for removing a person or object from a photo.

screen-shot-2016-10-10-at-15-40-38

I took an image from online of a vectorised crocodile, in which I added a ‘reveal all’ layer mask in order to hide the background, to put on my bottle for imagery’s sake. Layer masks are a great tool to quickly and conveniently remove a background with a professional feel. I later added a Colour Overlay in order to make the lines of the crocodile stand out for a better effect in the end product.

screen-shot-2016-10-10-at-15-40-50

Notice the rip in the label Рand how the crocodile is part of the rip, due to me using a layer mask. The crocodile instantly blends in with the label and the texture because of it.

Restaraunt Menu Research

2
This fold out menu is different to your bog standard A5 sheet of thin card; in my opinion this makes for something new and unseen, which would potentially attract more customers. It was made for the restaurant ‘the inside’. The font used in the title is quite funky which could be targeting a wide range of audiences, from music lovers to skaters. The white background contrasts with the black and red type/imagery in order to stand out and looks a lot more modern.
7f8ea317916259-562c0e542b059
This type of advertisement is different as it’s trying to sell a particular product, instead of a range of different products. It was made for ‘Hefty’s Burgers’, in which the slogan at the top links in with. The light grey background gives a modern effect. I like the style of imagery, which was most likely created using a pen tool in photoshop/imagery. However, I would probably think about changing the general colour of imagery as blue doesn’t really come to mind when thinking about a burger. (unless it’s the restaurants colours).
bca9c521243663-562fdeb6e3404
This menu was made for a pizza restaurant called ‘Pop Pizza’. The red background could represent a tomato base thats used in most pizza’s. The pop out pizza’s are a huge part of this menu and gives the customer a new experience when browsing for what pizza they want. Having the sizes on the left hand side of the page with a wavy transition to white is, in my opinion, the best way they could’ve done it.

Making my own filters

unspecified

Today I decided to look at the instagram filters and decided to try and re-create one or two using adjustment layers on photoshop. I liked the look of ‘1977’, as it gives off a cooler feel by bringing out the blues with the shadows.

screen-shot-2016-10-04-at-14-39-04screen-shot-2016-10-04-at-14-40-27

I decided to start out using the levels adjustment layers in order to sharper and darken the shadows. After this I put a new adjustment layer into my work, which was colour balances. I changed the tones to shadows and brought the blues up and the greens down. This intensified the blue’s in the image which took me closer to the end product that I wanted.

screen-shot-2016-10-04-at-13-37-28

After I had altered the levels and the colour balance, I felt like it just hadn’t done enough. I decided to use a Selective Colour layer adjustment, which would give me the chance to make certain colours in the image warmer or colder.

screen-shot-2016-10-04-at-13-34-42At this point, I was satisfied that I had created a near enough replica of the 1977 effect. However, I wasn’t done there, I wanted to keep experimenting. I went on to try a gradient layer adjustment, using colours that are in the latest advertising trends.

screen-shot-2016-10-04-at-14-08-48

In my opinion using cyan and beige makes for a nice colour scheme, it gives off a vibrant feel, yet stays classy. This is a good technique to catch somebodies eye whilst at the same time mesmerising them.

screen-shot-2016-10-04-at-14-08-48-copy

I also experimented with the Black & White layer adjustment. In my opinion, this effect is nice in the way that it really blows the textures on the image up. However, this wouldn’t be an effect that I would use often as there isn’t much to it.

Bouncing Ball Animation

In order to get a feel for tweening and easing in flash, I decided to create a bouncing ball animation with the intention of linking physics into my animations. Using easing, I was able to get the desired effect of the ball easing in and out. Easing works best with shape tweening. When easing, the user will have to put in a value between -100 and 100. A negative value creates a faster change from the starting position, known as ‘easing in’. A positive value creates a more of a slow-down effect, known as ‘easing out’.

screen-shot-2016-10-28-at-15-27-15

Leave a Reply

